top of page

Patchwork & Quilting

This cake turned out to be a real joy to make. When I was researching for it I was overwhelmed time after time by the endless design possibilities and it broke my heart a bit to have to exclude so many design directions in order to just find a place to start. Even with the simplest of quilting templates there are a million variations achievable with a change of colour or direction of pattern.

Then there was the shape of the cake...I really thought the patchwork should be the focus of the cake and suggested the un-cakiest shape, a cube, which was a little risky because we had to keep it sort of pretty and feminine and not too abstract. I think all the white, the stitched seams and quilting lines helped to achieve a sort of not so abstract, homeliness. I got to explore new cakey territory and fill the brief. Yay.


Recent Posts
bottom of page